Awards from the American Printing House for the Blind

The American Printing House for the Blind presents four major awards to deserving persons who make outstanding contributions to the field of blindness.

Wings of Freedom Award

In 2011, Ralph Brewer, Superintendent Emeritus of the Tennessee School for the Blind, received APH's highest honor, the Wings of Freedom Award. Here Brewer poses with (left) Burt Boyer (APH) and Tuck Tinsley. (Click to enlarge.)

The Wings of Freedom Award is the highest honor presented by the American Printing House for the Blind. The award is not annual, but is given periodically, only as deserved. The Wings Award was established to recognize and honor individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the areas of education or rehabilitation of persons who are blind and visually impaired.

Wings Award Recipients
2011 Wings of Freedom Award Videos

Virgil Zickel Award

In 2011, Zickel Award recipients Dr. Richard Woodcock and Dr. Lynne Jaffe pose with APH's Barbara Henderson. The award was presented for work on the landmark Woodcock-Johnson III Braille Adaptation.

APH's Virgil Zickel Award recognizes those creative and caring individuals whose ideas result in the development of innovative products designed to improve the quality of life for people who are blind and visually impaired.

Virgil Zickel was a dedicated employee of the American Printing House for the Blind for 27 years during the 1950s, '60s, and '70s. In his role as Plant Manager, he was crucial to the development and production of countless products. We are proud to bestow the Zickel Award in honor of this outstanding man whose talents were responsible for bettering the lives of countless visually impaired students and adults.

Recipients of the Zickel Award

Creative Use of Braille Award

In 2011, Creative Use of Braille Award recipient Leslie Ligon holds her award for creating innovative braille jewelry.

The Creative Use of Braille Award is given in recognition of a product, idea, method, or promotional effort that increases the availability or awareness of braille. It is not given annually but only when an idea, service, or program rises to an important level.

Recipients of the Creative Use of Braille Award

Exemplary Advocate Award

In 2011, Tuck Tinsley (left) and Bob Brasher (right) presented the APH Exemplary Advocate Award to Rosanne Silbermann of Hunter College.

APH presents the Exemplary Advocate Award to uniquely deserving partners.

Recipients of the Exemplary Advocate Award
  • Rosanne Silberman, 2011
  • Jackie Denk, 2010
  • Barbara Perkis, 2009
  • Rod Brawley, 2002


Popular posts from this blog

UPDATED! Oldies but Goodies: "Established" APH Products

Orbit Reader 20 Removed from APH Catalog